My Knight

peaceI have no peace, no quietness; I have no rest, but only turmoil. Job 3:21 (NIV)

What is peace? How do I grasp it? One definition of peace is freedom from war; another is to be silent.

Freedom from war. Who am I at war with? Oh, I know without a doubt I am at war with Satan. We battle every.single.day. He has a daily battle plan and he comes prepared with his self-doubt, selfishness, bitterness, and anger. He fills my head with thoughts of earthly possessions that I don’t have and of goals I haven’t accomplished. He tells me I am not sincere in my worship. He reminds me of the times I said and thought the wrong thing. He ruthlessly shoots his arrows of failure, hitting his target with precision. He lashes out through mental chaos creating confusion and emotional weakness. Some days he comes at me so fiercely I feel that my spiritual, my emotional and even my physical knees are going to break.

Where is my peace? How can I defeat this enemy of confusion and deceit? The enemy is defeated and rendered helpless only when I look upward. As I look toward the heavens I see My Knight In Shining Armour coming to my rescue. “Be still, be silent, my sweet child. I have come to give you peace and rest. I have defeated the enemy and victory is yours.”

He himself is my peace. He himself calms the raging storm of chaos and confusion. I am no longer condemned, but justified. I have been rescued from Satan’s dwelling and transferred into the Kingdom of Christ. The Joy of the Lord is my strength.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27 (NIV)

Dear Heavenly Father, I thank you for your promise that you have defeated my darkest enemy, Satan. You, Father, are my refuge when the storms of life attempt to overtake and consume me. As I lift my eyes toward heaven and seek your beautiful face, I find a peace that surpasses all understanding. Thank you, Father, that you have defeated Satan and rendered his tactics useless. I love you, Father. You are Amazingly Awesome. Amen

One thought on “My Knight

Leave a Reply

