Warm Fuzzy Feeling

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Restore to me  the joy of your salvation and sustain me with a willing spirit.” Psalm 51:10, 12 (NASB)

joy-1462107-1600x1200

I woke up and made my way into the kitchen ready to make coffee, pray and begin MY quiet time.  I abruptly stopped in disbelief. How could this be?  My son was sleeping on my couch instead of in his room.  I half-heartedly flipped on the kitchen light and grudgingly scooped coffee into the pot. “Doesn’t he know MY day is planned? Doesn’t he know I get up early to have MY quiet time, MY  God time? I can’t turn my radio on and listen to Christian music. My whole day is ruined.”

Do you ever have a day like this or is it just me?  I have too many.  Days where God gives me new opportunities to show love and how he has transformed my life.  I seem to fail more times than I care to count.  I fail because I center my day, my mood around ME.  I crave that warm, fuzzy feeling. Reverse. Reverse. Reverse.

 I should have begun the day on my knees before even making the coffee.  I should have prayed not MY will Father but yours.  I should have started the day by thanking God that my son was on my couch drug-free.  I should have touched his sweet face with love.

My daily pursuit should not be to have a warm fuzzy feeling; my daily pursuit should be MY Heavenly Father’s presence.   Warm fuzzy feelings are temporary and unreliable.  God is always available; always reliable.  His love is unchanging and lasting. I missed a God opportunity this morning.  I missed a love opportunity this morning.

“Dear Heavenly Father, I know you are continually refining me, but it seems that I always find a way to miss an opportunity to show your love to others.  My desire is to be a woman of  kindness and compassion.  Help me to respond to others in love and to have a willing heart to hear your voice and receive the joy that you so freely give.  In your sweet,  awesome name, Amen.

3 thoughts on “Warm Fuzzy Feeling

  1. Angela Lamb says:

    This one is your best yet. Your expressions of your walk with God are so encouraging to me. I love watching you grow in the Lord day by day and week by week. God is truely working in your life!

    Like

  2. God Is So Good. Satan has been rubbing me with doubt regarding whether I have the ability to write. Today Satan, I have a gift for you. I received this email;

    SUBJECT: Use of your article

    FROM: Abby Kelly

    MESSAGE:

    Hi , I just wanted to let you know that we plan to publish “Warm Fuzzy Feelings” in My Daily Armor’s Christian Digest. You can find it here: http://MyDailyArmor.Org on the 29th.

    We are currently blessed to reach thousands of people each month through our online magazine and have reached out to millions of people in forty-five countries around the world since we began in January of 2013 through our social media site on Facebook http://fb.com/MyDailyArmor.

    Thank you so much for sharing your story with us. My Daily Armor’s Christian Digest would not be possible without the support of writers like yourself and FaithWriters. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort.

    Blessings To You And Your Family,
    Abby Kelly
    Editor My Daily Armor Christian Digest
    AbbyKelly@MyDailyArmor.org
    http://MyDailyArmor.Org

    REPLY E-MAIL: abbykelly@mydailyarmor.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

